Recipe 91: American Chocolate Ripple Cheesecake

Hello everyone, I hope you are having a lovely weekend. I am currently amongst all of the preparation for my grandparent’s 50th wedding anniversary party this evening. I was in charge of the cake (of course), so I am sure I will be posting a picture of it on my next blog post. Just so you know, it is a 3-tier white cake (12″, 9″ and 6″, respectively) and 50 chocolate and vanilla cupcakes. It has taken two long days of hard work but we have got there in the end and I am so excited to see it all put together tonight.ย IMAG1212 IMAG1213

Now, I’m not sure if I have mentioned this before, but cheesecakes have long been my nemesis. I can’t stand making them, because it always worries me that it’ll be a waste of money – cream cheese (good quality, that is) can be expensive. I have had many a bad experience with cheesecakes as I have tried to be clever and use fat-free or low-fat cheese. Trust me, it doesn’t work.ย IMAG1139

I am so behind on this Mary challenge, and when I was flicking through the book, I realised that I really need to get my act together in the cheesecake section. This seemed to be the easiest one in there, and actually, was one of the nicest cheesecakes I have ever tried. I can only apologise about the quality of the photos, I’ve had a lot of things to concentrate on currently!IMG_20140912_103019

This recipe, in the Baking Bible anyway, has several flaws; a quick search online returned many views from bloggers regarding the ingredients list and cooking time. As I have written below, the original recipe in the book suggests 1 egg, 100g sugar and only 30 minutes in the oven. If you have a look on the BBC website, it actually calls for 2 eggs and more sugar. Expect the cheesecake to crack as it cools in the oven, and leave it to set in the fridge overnight. I would only cook it for 45 mins, otherwise, reviews have suggested it to have a horrible taste/texture. Good luck!

Ingredients:

For the base:

  • 100g plain chocolate digestives (I used non-chocolate digestives as they were all I had + increased this to 175g)
  • 50g butter

For the cheesecake:

  • 150g plain chocolate (39%)
  • 700g full-fat soft cream cheese
  • 100g (225g according to BBC Food) caster sugar
  • 1/2 tsp vanilla extract/essence
  • 1 (2 online) large eggs

Method:

  1. Preheat the oven to 160C/fan 140C/gas mark 3; lightly grease an 8″ loose-bottomed/springform tin.
  2. Crush the digestives, either with a plastic bag and a rolling pin, or a nutribullet (very handy. Melt the butter in a saucepan, remove from the heat, then stir in the biscuit crumbs. Press into the prepared tin then leave to set.20140911_185425
  3. For the cheesecake filling, melt the chocolate (either using a bain marie, or in the microwave), stirring occasionally, then leave to cool slightly. Add the cheese into a large bowl, and beat until soft. Add the sugar and beat again until well combined. Finally, beat in the vanilla and eggs (one at a time).20140911_18583420140911_190059
  4. Spoon half of the cheese mixture onto the biscuit crust, separating spoonfuls. Add the melted chocolate to the remaining cream cheese mix, and stir well. Spoon the chocolate mixture in between the plain, then swirl the top with a knife.20140911_190400
  5. Bake in the oven for 45-60 minutes, until puffy around the edges but still soft in the centre. Turn off the oven but leave the cheesecake in there to cool. Once cold, chill well in the fridge (overnight perhaps?). Loosen the edges using a palette knife, and serve chilled.IMAG1137
Leave a Reply

