Review of 3-Day Detox

IMG_20140810_150931

Hello everyone, hope you had a lovely weekend! It’s been a busy one for me, I’ve been off taking photos for a friend who has just got married and was at the Foodies Festival in Battersea Park on Sunday, which was amazing.

IMG_20140819_005029

IMG_20140819_004952

Jerk chicken, rice, salad and plantain

IGNORING THE PHOTOS ABOVE…As I said last week, I had decided to go on a juice detox for 3-days; I was keen to lose a few lbs + see what it’s like out of pure curiosity. As someone who has a food blog, it stands to reason that I like to cook and bake (and of course eat!) so how on Earth would I be able to survive on just pure juice?IMG_20140813_145125

I’ve watched a few documentaries in the past couple of weeks:

  1. Fat, Sick & Nearly Dead: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=x9SGWcZwk7c
  2. Hungry for change: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=3MvAM97VDE8
  3. Vegucated: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=GKzng1_byMY

Which gave me, ironically, food for thought, and made me consider my diet and lifestyle; I considered myself healthy but maybe I was taking a few wrong turns. When we get down to the basics, the key is balance , sticking to the correct number of calories according to your weight and activity level, of which exercise plays a key role. I suppose you could say it isn’t rocket science, but why is it sometimes so difficult?

IMG_20140816_132427

I purchased a Nutribullet (£99 RRP) in order to get into creating healthy drinks and smoothies; I had originally considered buying a juicer, however, they require a fair amount of space in the kitchen (of which we lack!). So it was decided that I would blend the ingredients, then sieve for the juice to remove the pulp (fibre). For the 3-day detox, I was following Jason Vale’s strict orders using the app, which you can buy on both Google Play and the App store. It is incredibly resourceful, with a shopping list, daily coaching videos, instructional videos for each juice, and finally information about all the vitamins and minerals contained within your drink.

In a nutshell:

IMG_20140811_214259

 

Day 1 = not too bad, excited to get going, finding out what you like in your juice

Day 2 = a real struggle, absolutely starving

Day 3 =  easiest out of all the days, but counting the hours until you can eat properly

 

 

So what happened and what have I learned?

Well, first of all, I lost a total of 6 lbs on the detox, which I thought was amazing considering it is so hard to lose it most of the time. My tummy felt completely cleansed and empty, which removed any feelings of bloating or the suspect ‘fat day’ feeling. I found even the smallest amount of yellow pepper in one of my juices to be repulsive, so that is one to be avoided. Fresh ginger root can make most drinks taste much better and lastly, it has led me to want to take part in his ‘7lbs in 7 days’ in a couple of weeks.IMG_20140818_112057

The detox has taught me not to snack, which isn’t difficult as I no longer feel the need to do so; meals are much more filling and satisfying; each day starts off with a juice/smoothie, and finally, 70-80% of my diet is now focused on my mainly raw fruits and vegetables.

IMG_20140812_213839

I won’t lie, it is the weirdest feeling to not eat at your usual meal times, and living in a house where 4 other people aren’t doing it makes it much harder. You want the nice dinner or salad for lunch, maybe the smallest bit of chocolate or a biscuit, but it takes a fair bit of willpower to say no to Mr McVitie and detox your system! I was going to the gym every day to do my training for the 10km run in September, as it is recommended that you do an hour of exercise each day, so it could have influenced the weight loss.

IMG_20140814_082756

It fits!

Tip: If you don’t own a juicer, juice all the fruit in these recipes, except for bananas, avocados, blueberries, blackberries and strawberries. Sieve to remove the pulp, then blend the juice with the fruits above + ice. Perfect every time. You could even add chia seeds for a superfood boost!

Go-to juice recipes:

  1. 3 apples, large handful of baby spinach leaves, thick slice raw beetroot, thick slice of cucumber, small chunk of ginger, quarter of a pineapple, thick slice of lemon (with the rind) and half an avocado.
  2. 1 pear (cored), 2 large handfuls of spinach leaves, 2 apples, quarter of a pineapple, and a banana (+ a splash of coconut water).
  3. 1 large naval orange (peel removed), 1 cup strawberries, 1 cup raspberries, large handful of spinach, 1 cup pineapple and 1 banana.

If you can’t be bothered to juice your ingredients all of the time, there is the option of just simply blending everything together as a smoothie. They feel naughty but are in fact, incredibly nice!

Easy smoothie recipes:

  1. 300ml almond milk (or your choice of milk), 100ml coconut water, 2 tbsp raw cocoa powder, 50g dates, 100g frozen banana, and 20g organic peanut butter.
  2. 100g pineapple, 100g frozen strawberries, 100g banana, 100g total 0% yoghurt (or dairy-free alternative) and 250ml coconut water.
  3. 250g alpro (or alternative), 1 cup blueberries, 1 cup blackberries, 1/2 pineapple (juice this first), splash of coconut water, and a handful of oats.

If anyone is considering doing it, let me know if you want anymore information!

Cheers!

Cheers!

 

Leave a Reply

