Recipe 82: Bread & Butter Pudding

Screen Shot 2014-02-22 at 22.13.04Hello everyone, first off, apologies for my lack of blogging recently; being a third year in last semester is pretty tricky and finding time to do things, especially baking, is getting harder and harder. I have purchased a new camera recently, so I hope that my pictures will be improving (I do have a DSLR but it’s too much time to do editing)!

I can’t believe how long it has been since my last post, but I thought I would get back into my regular recipe posting, starting off with this: bread and butter pudding.

I must admit, I didn’t try it so I can’t give my own personal opinion on it, however, I made it for family and they told me it was ‘delicious’ and went back for second helpings. The smell as it was cooking was fabulous, and made the house smell divine. I have seen other variations, such as adding choc chips and changing the bread to brioche, but I decided to make it as Mary suggests, the traditional route.

It felt like a very strange thing to make if I’m honest, dipping bread in butter and laying it with sugar and mixed fruit, as I was making it, I couldn’t see myself enjoying it but who knows, maybe I will try it one day.

Ingredients:

  • 100 – 200 g butter, melted (you may need more than suggested)
  • 250 g currants and sultanas
  • 75 g caster sugar
  • Grated rind of 1 lemon
  • 1/2 tsp mixed spice
  • 12 thin slices white bread, crusts removed
  • 3 large eggs
  • 600 ml full-fat milk (I used original almond breeze instead)
  • 2 tbsp demerara sugar, to sprinkle

Method:

  1. Grease a 7×9″ ovenproof dish with a little of the melted butter. Add the dried fruit, sugar, lemon rind and spice into a bowl and toss to mix well. Cut each bread slice into 3 strips.Screen Shot 2014-02-22 at 22.12.26
  2. Take enough breadstrips to cover the base of the dish and dip one side of each strip in melted butter. Lay them in the prepared dish, butter side down. Sprinkle with half the dried fruit mixture. Repeat the layering, laying the bread strips buttered side up and sprinkle with the remaining dried fruit mix. Lay the 3rd and final layer of bread strips on top, buttered side up.Screen Shot 2014-02-22 at 22.12.40
  3. Beat together the eggs and milk and pour over the pudding. Sprinkle with the sugar, then leave to stand for 1 hour if possible. While waiting, preheat the oven to 180C/fan 160C/gas mark 4. Screen Shot 2014-02-22 at 22.12.49
  4. Bake in the oven for around 40-45 mins or until the top is golden brown and crisp. Serve hot and enjoy!
2 thoughts on “Recipe 82: Bread & Butter Pudding

Leave a Reply

