Almond Breeze Rice Pudding

Screen Shot 2014-01-31 at 10.28.44

A good few weeks ago, the lovely people from Blue Diamond sent me a selection of their Almond Breeze milk, including chocolate (my favourite!), original and unsweetened. It’s not something I generally publicise as I tend to ignore it, but I am mildly lactose intolerant. It can be so annoying because I love everything dairy – yoghurts, milkshakes, ice cream, and things such as overnight oats, porridge and so on. Most of the time, I just get on with it and end up with the sore tummy cramps and feeling very uncomfortable.

When I was asked if I would like to try Almond Breeze, I jumped at the chance as I wanted an alternative to soy milk (it doesn’t taste too nice in tea and coffee). With things like overnight oats and porridge or cereal, I had used lactofree but it didn’t completely eliminate the problem. I can honestly say, this is the best thing I’ve used for my oaty breakfast, my coffee and tea, hot chocolate (chocolate almond milk + hot choc powder = heaven).

What is almond milk?

Made from real California almonds, Almond Breeze is a deliciously creamy alternative to dairy and soymilk. Almond Breeze Original is lactose free, soy free, calcium enriched, and contains only 60 calories per glass.

But when they then asked me to try and come with a recipe to use it in my baking, I was stumped! I just couldn’t think of how to use the milk in a cake, but then I moved away from typical cake making, and leaned towards puddings. Screen Shot 2014-01-31 at 10.26.19

Then I had an, aha! moment. Rice pudding! Generally, I’ve never been a huge rice pudding fan, but I know that everyone in my house loves it. I knew I wanted to do a baked rice pudding, I wanted a vanilla flavour and a little less of the nutmeg (curse nutmeg!) and more cinnamon. Screen Shot 2014-01-31 at 10.26.52

The end result, was truly delicious and my opinion on rice pudding has now changed, naturally, I added some jam to make it naughty!

Ingredients:

  • 150 g pudding rice
  • 50 g caster sugar
  • 450 ml original almond milk
  • 450 ml single cream/ dairy-free cream alternative e.g. alpro single cream
  • 25 g butter (or stork, foil wrapped stork is dairy-free), diced
  • 1 tsp nutmeg
  • 2 tsp cinnamon + extra for sprinkling
  • 1 vanilla pod

Method:

  1. Rinse the pudding rice in cold water and leave to drain the sieve. Preheat the oven to 160C/gas mark 3 and grease a glass dish or equivalent, I’ve used my Le Creuset dish here. Place the rinsed rice into the dish and set aside. Screen Shot 2014-01-31 at 10.26.30
  2. In a saucepan, add the sugar, milk and cream along with the seeds of a vanilla pod, nutmeg and cinnamon. Heat gently, stirring constantly and bring it just to the boil. Remove from the heat and pour into your dish over the rice, give it a stir. Screen Shot 2014-01-31 at 10.26.42
  3. Dot with the squares of butter, then place on the top shelf of the oven. Bake your rice pudding for 30 mins, then take out of the oven, give it a stir, then put it back in for another 30 mins. Once again, remove, stir and place back in. Screen Shot 2014-01-31 at 10.27.01Now bake for an 45mins-1 hour without stirring. Keep your eye on it, it should have a nice brown crust with a slight wobble and creamy texture.
  4. Allow to sit for about 5 mins, then tuck in! Add some jam and enjoy! Screen Shot 2014-01-31 at 10.27.15
Leave a Reply

