Recipe 70: Oat Rounds

Well hello everyone. It’s been over a week since I last blogged and that happened to only be my meal plan, I just haven’t had the time do anything but revise and finish off outstanding assignments. Now that all essays and presentations are done, one exam done today and one more to go for Friday, I thought I would quickly blog some lovely oaty biscuits I made a couple of weeks ago.

This has been me for the past 2 weeks!!

This has been me for the past 2 weeks!!

When I decide what to make, it’s usually just a case of flicking through and ticking off the things I haven’t done yet, and every time, these biscuits crop up and I always ignore them. In my head, I pictured a digestive but I was a bit disappointed that they weren’t. Don’t get me wrong, they were so yummy and crunchy fresh out of the oven; I added a drizzle of chocolate too which gave them just that little something extra. I can imagine for those of you who enjoy cheese and biscuits – these would be perfect. I also doubled the amount of ingredients used, in order to make more in one go.Photo 10-11-2013 13 23 41

I hope I can start doing some more baking soon, however rather excitingly, Mary’s ‘American Chocolate Wedding Cake’ is what I will be making at the beginning of January for my cousin’s 13th birthday! (Minus the flowers, more footballs!)

Ingredients (makes approx. 16)

  • 50 g caster sugar
  • 100 g butter, softened
  • 100 g porridge oats
  • 50 g plain flour
  • Chocolate (optional)

Method:

  1. Preheat the oven to 160C/fan 140C/gas mark 2. Line 2 baking trays with baking parchment.
  2. Add the sugar and butter to a large bowl and beat together until creamy; add the oats and flour and work them into the mixture.
  3. Lightly knead the mixture until smooth and roll out to a thickness of 5mm on a lightly floured work surface.
  4. Cut into rounds using a 6cm cutter (If you have one, mine was 7cm) and place on the prepared baking trays. Bake in the oven for about 20 minutes, until beginning to turn golden. Remove from the oven and lift onto a wire rack to cool.
  5. When cool, place some broken up chocolate into a piping bag (or a sturdy sandwich bag) and melt in the microwave while in the bag; snip off the end and drizzle over the biscuits. If you can leave them to set, do! If not, I don’t blame you. Photo 10-11-2013 13 19 19

 

3 thoughts on “Recipe 70: Oat Rounds

Leave a Reply

