I call it, a pizza tart!

Bonjour bloggers! For the last week I’ve had the biggest craving for a pizza, I know it’s naughty, but you know when you just…want it? I still haven’t had a pizza, but this is the closest thing to it. Photo 21-11-2013 23 02 02

In my meal plan that I posted on Monday, I said that for Thursday (last night) I would be having ‘easy pizza’. After I had flicked through my ‘Greedy Girl’s Diet Book’, I landed on it. When i actually had a read of the recipe, I wasn’t thrilled, it didn’t excite me, and I knew it wouldn’t fill that craving of mine. So this week, when my mum went to do the shopping, she picked up some Jus Roll puff pastry, of which I hadn’t actually used before. Instead of buying pizza dough (or making it), I decided that I would just use this instead. WOW, wow oh wow. This like a tart, with a flaky pastry crust, that tastes like a pizza and reminds of summer due to the torn, fresh, basil.

On Thursdays, I don’t finish until 6.30-7pm, so after driving home, spending ages cooking is the last thing I want to do, but this takes absolutely no time at all, that’s a promise.

Ingredients:

  • 1 block ready made puff pastry
  • 1 clove garlic
  • 1 red onion, thinly sliced
  • 5 chestnut mushrooms, sliced
  • 4 tsp green pesto
  • 250 ml passata
  • 1 tsp cornflour
  • Cheese, grated
  • Trimmed green beans
  • Spinach
  • Fresh basil leaves, torn
  • Freshly ground black pepper

Method:

  1. Preheat your oven to 200C/fan 180C/gas mark 5.
  2. Roll out your puff pastry long and wide enough to fit your tin, I used a rectangular flan/tart tin but use a round one by all means. For the pastry that may be overhanging, Roll it over and tuck it in down the sides. Prick the pastry all over and place in the oven; bake for 15 minutes.
  3. Meanwhile, start making your sauce; add the garlic and some olive oil into a small saucepan and cook over a medium heat for 2 minutes, add the onion and cook for a further 3 minutes.
  4. Pour in the passata, pesto, and cornflour, stir until it is all combined. Heat gently until thick, but do not let it boil. Remove from the heat to cool slightly.
  5. When you remove your pastry from the oven, it’ll probably look like it has been inflated, don’t panic! Prick the base and allow for the steam to come out, it’ll deflate I promise! Once it has leveled out, pour on your sauce and make sure it’s spread evenly.
  6. Scatter over grated cheese, then spinach, mushrooms, green beans, and then a little more grated cheese over the top. Finished with freshly ground black pepper.
  7. Place in the oven and bake for 15-20 minutes, scatter over some fresh basil leaves and enjoy with some salad or just on it’s own. Perfect! Photo 21-11-2013 20 30 55
Leave a Reply

