Recipe 60: Special Shortbread

Good morning everyone! I’m finally blogging a Mary Berry recipe, and I have so many to do. I’m starting to feel like 3 months won’t be enough time due to university demands and all of the assessments coming up. So I’m wondering if to give myself more time for it, we’ll see!Photo 19-10-2013 21 52 56

When I made these, I was in a particularly festive mood and thought I would use my Christmas tree cutters for the first time! Just to give it that extra something, I added some cinnamon to the mix for both colour and taste. The icing drizzle also worked particularly well, and jazzed up a fairly plain biscuit, into something even Santa would love to receive! Photo 19-10-2013 21 49 46

Ingredients:

  • 175 g plain flour
  • 75 g light muscovado sugar
  • 100 g butter
  • 2 tsp cinnamon (optional)
  • A little demerara sugar for sprinkling

Method:

  1. Preheat the oven to 160C/fan 140C/gas mark 3. Line 2 baking trays with greaseproof/baking paper.
  2. Add the flour and sugar to a large bowl and rub in the butter using your fingertips. Knead gently to bring it all together and form a dough.Photo 19-10-2013 19 13 18
  3. Roll out the dough on a lightly floured surface (or my favourite, a sheet of baking paper), to a thickness of about 5mm. Cut into circles, stars, hearts, or christmas trees like me!
  4. Transfer to the prepared trays and prick the biscuits all over with a fork; sprinkle with the demerara sugar.Photo 19-10-2013 19 15 33
  5. Bake in the oven for 15-20 minutes or until golden; lift onto a wire rack and then leave to cool.
  6. Optional: To add something a little special to your biscuits (if going down the festive route) is combine 150 g icing sugar with 2 tsp cinnamon and enough water to create a thick drizzle. Drizzle over the biscuits and leave to set, easy!Photo 19-10-2013 21 48 45
Leave a Reply

