Autumn offerings: The things you can do with a pumpkin (Part 3)

Hello everyone! Halloween has been and gone and now you might be left with lots of pumpkin to use up, well don’t worry because I’ve got a few ways for you to do so. The great thing about Autumn is that it is the season of the pumpkin; it’s cheap and versatile and you can get the most out of it. The pumpkin I bought for £3 yielded me roughly 2.5 kg flesh of which I have used each piece!

Here's a reminder of my little friend!

See you next year, buddy!

So I first blogged those delicious pumpkin seeds which make a great addition to salads, soups or just to eat as a healthy snacking alternative. After that, was the delicious soup, perfect for the cold weather we’ve been having lately. So now, for my final installment, I present to you…

Pumpkin cupcakes with orange cream cheese frosting

Photo 13-10-2013 17 38 16As I have said in the past, cupcakes aren’t really my thing; generally I find them a bit too sweet. I would go for a muffin or a slice of cake between the two but sometimes when I get bought a new set of cupcake liners, I think – why not, lets see what can be done. I don’t like too much icing either; too much buttercream puts me right off, but cream cheese frosting on the other hand, would be my go-to choice. It does make it feel quite rich and decadent, but the addition of the orange zest goes brilliantly and cuts through the initial sweetness. I also decided to reduce the quantity of sunflower oil as it’s not a thought I enjoy when eating a cake, so I replaced 2/3 of it with natural low fat yoghurt. Here is the recipe for it, as found on the BBC Food website:

Ingredients:

  • 50 ml sunflower oil
  • 125 ml natural low fat yoghurt
  • 175 g light muscovado sugar
  • 3 large eggs
  • 1 tsp vanilla extract
  • 200 g coarsely grated pumpkin
  • 100 g sultanas
  • Grated zest 1 orange
  • 2 tsp ground cinnamon
  • 200 g self-raising flour
  • 1 tsp bicarbonate of soda

For the icing:

  • 200g tub full-fat cream cheese
  • 150 g icing sugar, sifted
  • Grated zest of 1 orange
  • Toasted and chopped pecans to decorate (I left mine whole)

Method:

  1. Preheat oven to 180C/160C fan/gas 4. Line a 12-hole muffin tray with paper cases.
  2. Pour the oil and natural yoghurt into a large bowl and add the sugar, eggs and vanilla. Beat together, then add the grated pumpkin, sultanas and orange zest.Photo 13-10-2013 15 07 02
  3. Stir in the cinnamon, flour and bicarbonate of soda, the mixture will be quite wet and sticky. Spoon into the cases, equally.
  4. Photo 13-10-2013 16 22 13Bake for 25-30 mins until firm and springy to the touch and a skewer inserted in the centre of a cupcake comes out clean. Remove from the tin and allow to cool completely on a wire rack.
  5. To make the frosting, beat the cream cheese, orange zest and sugar together until smooth then spread or pipe on top of the cupcakes. Decorate with the pecans.Photo 13-10-2013 17 37 22
Leave a Reply

