Autumn offerings: The things you can do with a pumpkin (Part 2)

Photo 15-10-2013 14 41 35Bonjour, I told you’d I’d be back with another way to use a pumpkin after you’ve carved it! I must admit I didn’t get much sleep due to the storm that seems to have hit the UK; it poured down with rain all night, and then the wind was picking up – my fence looks as though it may snap (let’s hope it doesn’t). I thought for this blog post, I would lead nicely on to some homemade pumpkin soup.

Here's a reminder of my little friend!

Here’s a reminder of my little friend!

 

You can combine the pumpkin with a large variety of things, such as carrot, coconut, apple – the possibilities are endless! I stuck to a creamy and simple soup and one which I had all the ingredients for, it lasted the majority of the week, serving well as lunch for quickness and warmth. Since then, I have been making soup on a Sunday night in preparation for the week ahead; it has been saving me a fair bit of money as I’m usually buying lunches out at great expense once you’ve added it all up. Not only that, but as the weather has turned colder, it’s a wonderful feeling to be warm on the inside and well wrapped up in my jumpers – I have been cheering for the autumn/winter chill since the end of August!

A particular favourite of mine - my new Henry Holland jumper!

A particular favourite of mine – my new Henry Holland jumper!

So yes, pumpkin soup that’s easy and delicious; store in airtight container and it should last (if you haven’t eaten it all by then!) for about 4-5 days. Once warmed, spoon in some cream/creme fraiche or natural low fat yoghurt as I did, a sprinkling of pepper and those wonderful seeds you made earlier – voila! The recipe is adapted slightly from BBC Goodfood, also, mine wasn’t as orange as theirs, maybe the pumpkin wasn’t as ripe? So far, all the seeds and 1 kg has been used, still more to go!

Ingredients:

  • 4 tbsp olive oil
  • 2 white onions, finely chopped
  • 1 kg pumpkins, chopped into chunks (you can always use butternut squash)
  • 700 ml chicken stock
  • 142 ml natural yoghurt (plus extra for swirling later)
  • Salt and freshly ground black pepper
  • Roasted pumpkin seeds
  • A good chunk of wholemeal bread

Method:

  1. Heat 2 tbsp olive oil in a large saucepan, then gently cook the onions for 5 mins, until soft but not coloured on a medium heat.
  2. Add the chopped pumpkin to the pan, and continue to cook for 10-15 mins, stirring occasionally until it starts to soften and turn golden.
  3. Pour your stock into the pan, then season with salt and pepper. Bring to the boil, then allow to simmer for 10 mins until the squash is very soft.Photo 13-10-2013 15 24 14
  4. Pour the yoghurt (or cream if using), bring back to the boil, remove from the heat, then purée with a hand blender (the soup can now be frozen for up to 2 months).
  5. To serve, pour the soup into bowls, swirl some natural yoghurt on the top, add salt and pepper to taste, and lastly add a handful of pumpkin seeds. Enjoy! Photo 14-10-2013 20 13 41
One thought on “Autumn offerings: The things you can do with a pumpkin (Part 2)

Leave a Reply

