Autumn offerings: The things you can do with a pumpkin (Part 1)

Good evening everyone, I hope you’ve all had a nice weekend. My posts have been few recently, and that just down to lack of time to spend typing everything up; since I now have a week off, it gives me a chance to catch up on my blogging!

Photo 13-10-2013 12 58 27

A couple of weeks ago, I got the urge to buy a pumpkin; I didn’t know what I was going to do with it, but I knew that I wanted one. I’ve very much got into the idea of seasonal produce and keeping the cost down, and since this is pumpkin month, it fit perfectly. So off I went to Sainsbury’s and purchased a ‘monster’ pumpkin, honestly, it was huge. I had read online about the different kinds of pumpkins and was then worried that you couldn’t eat a carving pumpkin such as the one I’d bought. Undeterred, I went ahead and did it anyway – so don’t be put off! The next few blog posts will just give you a few ideas of how to use the pumpkins you’ll be buying for halloween next week. So lets start off with the seeds!Photo 13-10-2013 17 39 11

Pumpkin seeds are yummy, and can be quite expensive when buying them from the shops ready done. They’re also quite small compared to what you can scrape out; so, determined to waste nothing from this £3 pumpkin, I salvaged every seed and looked for the perfect way to roast them to crispy perfection. I’ve adapted this slightly but you can find the original post here. Fantastically healthy snack with barely anything added, just salt to give them a bit more flavour; you can of course roast them in sugar and cinnamon, or paprika…

Ingredients:

  • All of the lovely seeds from your pumpkin
  • 2 tbsp olive oil
  • Salt for sprinkling before and after

Method:

  1. First, you should clean them and remove the stringy flesh from the pumpkin; run them under a tap in a colander until clean.
  2. Place the seeds in a medium saucepan filled with cold water and sprinkling of salt. Bring them to the boil, the reduce the heat to a simmer and leave uncovered for 10-15 minutes. Photo 13-10-2013 16 00 18
  3. Next, drain the seeds in a colander again, and pat dry; I placed them onto a clean tea towel and gave them a light pat; they don’t need to be bone dry but try to remove the excess moisture. Pre-heat the oven to 180C/fan 160C/ gas mark 4. Photo 13-10-2013 16 32 01
  4. Using 1-2 baking trays, scatter the seeds on them; drizzle the olive oil on top and massage this in. Sprinkle the salt on top. Place in the oven on the top shelf to roast for around 15-20 minutes; take the trays out of the oven every 10 minutes or so to give them a shake and turn them around. You’ll notice the colour of the seeds changing, they’ll go from a dark-greyish colour to a nice white crispy seed. Once all dry, remove from the oven and leave to cool slightly; sprinkle on some more salt and enjoy! Photo 13-10-2013 17 38 29
3 thoughts on “Autumn offerings: The things you can do with a pumpkin (Part 1)

Leave a Reply

