Recipe 58: Fork Biscuits

122_1641 copy

Happy weekend everyone! As you can probably tell, I am so behind in blogging anything recently; I’ve had a bit of stress this week, having to get a piece of work done for my dissertation next year. So since that’s now been handed in, I can now share a few things with you!

So last Friday I turned 21 (scary right, I’m a read adult now?!), and had such a lovely time celebrating it with friends and family. Based on lots of recommendations, we had booked to go to The Petersham Hotel in Richmond for some rather fabulous afternoon tea – and it was one of the most delicious experiences I’ve had. Here’s a few pictures for you (above and below!), I also had my first experience of dining at the Savoy too – no pictures from that unfortunately, it didn’t feel the sort of establishment to do that 😉

122_1637

122_1635

I must also mention, that we now have a new member of the family! Yes! Very very exciting, we were all very shocked but glad to see he’s healthy and well:

Photo 11-10-2013 10 53 12

So for this blog post, this was evidently, the first thing I ever made using my new Kitchenaid. Nothing amazing, spectacular or even particularly tasty – however, they were crunchy little balls of delight. The mixture seemed quite dry, I suppose since they are only made of just butter, sugar and flour; next time I will probably add a dash of milk to bind them together better. Photo 13-10-2013 17 54 19You can add chocolate (cocoa powder) to the mix for an instant chocolate hit, or orange zest, or both! However, here is the recipe I followed:

Ingredients:

  • 100 g butter, softened
  • 50 g caster sugar
  • 150 g self-raising flour

Method:

  1. Preheat the oven to 180C/fan 160C/gas mark 4. Lightly grease or line 2 baking trays with parchment paper. Photo 13-10-2013 12 29 14
  2. Add the butter to a bowl and beat to soften; gradually beat in the sugar and then the flour. Bring the mix together with your hands to form a dough; form it into 16-19 balls about the size of a walnut and place well apart on the baking trays. Photo 13-10-2013 12 45 47 Dip a fork in a little water and use this to carefully flatten the biscuits.
  3. Bake in the oven for 15-20 minutes; lift off the baking tray and leave to cool completely on a wire-rack.

 

Leave a Reply

