GBBO Pastry Week: Hola Churros!

Photo 05-10-2013 16 40 43

I know I’m a bit late posting my bake-along to GBBO, but better late than never, right? When I was watching last week’s episode, I was so excited as I love making pastry; whether it be profiteroles, eclairs, tarts, you name it. I was going to do the technical challenge – those ‘ugly bunch of nuns’ as Glenn called them, but thought they’d be a bit too time consuming – and time is of the essence lately.

Instead, I thought I go down a similar route and stick with the choux pastry as a base; however, I cooked them very differently and something I would never normally do….I used the naughtiest method of cooking…the deep fryer! This is usually very much not my thing, not a fan of fried food or the smell of it; however, I had been asked several times to make these, and this was the perfect opportunity. While I was at it, I made something else…using some very lovely jam sent to me from Mackays – but more on that soon!

I used the recipe I found in the Waitrose Love to Cook book that I got at Christmas; they’re very easy to make, just do keep an eye on the temperature of your oil – you need it at 180C and not too much higher otherwise they burn and don’t cook, yuck! This also uses a very very moreish chocolate chilli dipping sauce, the perfect accompaniment.

Churros are named after the Churra breed of sheep. A very old Spanish delicacy originally eaten by shepherd who had no access to freshly baked produce in the mountains.

Ingredients:

  • 125 ml milk
  • 50 g unsalted butter
  • 1/2 tbsp sugar
  • 100 g plain flour
  • Pinch of salt
  • 1 large egg
  • 50 g caster sugar
  • A large pinch of ground cinnamon
  • Vegetable oil (1L) for frying

For the sauce:

  • 50 ml double cream
  • 100 g Lindt chilli chocolate, chopped

Method:

  1. In a saucepan, bring the milk, butter and sugar to the boil and keep it boiling for 1 minute. Take off the heat and beat in the flour and salt using a wooden spoon.
  2. Once all the flour has been combined, return the saucepan to a low heat. Stir and cook the mixture for 1 minute; transfer to a large bowl and stir for 1 minute to cool. Photo 05-10-2013 15 23 00
  3. In a separate bowl, beat the egg and slowly add to the pastry mixture; beating all the time with the spoon to make a choux pastry dough.
  4. Place an 8mm star nozzle into a piping bag, then add the mixture into it. On a plate, mix the sugar and cinnamon together. Photo 05-10-2013 15 40 54
  5. Heat a large saucepan with the oil in it to roughly 180C; now, pipe lengths of 5 cm (or however long you want them) of the pastry into the hot oil (be careful not to burn yourself) using scissors to snip the dough. Once they are golden in colour, transfer to a wire rack or plate lined with kitchen towel to drain the excess. While warm, coat in the cinnamon sugar. Repeat this until all of the pastry has been used. Photo 05-10-2013 15 44 01
  6. To make the sauce, pour the cream into a small pan and bring to the boil; turn off the heat and add the chocolate. Allow to melt in the cream then slowly stir the two together. Spoon into a bowl and serve with your delicious churros. Photo 05-10-2013 16 01 08
5 thoughts on “GBBO Pastry Week: Hola Churros!

  1. Debbie @ themondaybaker says:

    I saw these on one of Lorraine Pascale’s shows recently and they looked delicious if slightly scary to make. Deep frying is always something I’ve been a bit wary but now I have a deep fat fryer they may be possible. However it’s proved to be a slippery slope. At first it was just for the occasional batch of chips. Next thing I knew I was experimenting with triple cooked chips and homemade scotch eggs on a worryingly regular basis…… 😦

    • amyprescott92 says:

      Thank you! Deep frying scared me too, but it’s not too bad! My advice would be, check the temp of your oil and don’t let it go above 180C otherwise whatever you’re making will burn in seconds without cooking. Otherwise, just making sure you place them on kitchen towel to get rid of the oil – you don’t want to be eating that!

Leave a Reply

