Recipe 57: Bara Brith

Photo 01-10-2013 13 14 22Hello everyone, I feel as though I haven’t blogged for such a long time, so for that I apologise. It has been the most hectic couple of weeks ever and it feels like there is so much to do and so little time to do it in. Although I’m now only in my 4th week of being back, the deadlines are slowly beginning to creep up! Despite this however, I thought I would blog my recent bake from the Baking Bible: Bara Brith. My inspiration for this came from watching Beca making it on the Bake Off a few weeks ago, my mind instantly thought, gasp! It’s in the book! 

Photo 01-10-2013 13 29 48

I’m not usually the biggest fan of fruit loaves and fruit cakes because sometimes they can be a bit too dense and far too rich; my greatest surprise with this was that it was completely the opposite. The texture wasn’t too heavy, the fruit was sweet and juicy from the overnight soaking and the smell as it was cooking resembled Christmas. Try to be patient as it cools down, it will be worth it – I enjoyed mine with a nice cup of tea – typical me.

Ingredients:

  • 175 g currants
  • 175 g sultanas
  • 225 g light muscovado sugar
  • 300 ml strong hot tea (2 x teabags)
  • 275 g self raising flour
  • 1 large egg, beaten

Method:

  1. Photo 30-09-2013 22 25 12Add the fruit and sugar into a large bowl and pour over the hot tea; cover and leave overnight.
  2. Preheat the oven to 150C/fan 130C/gas mark 2. Lightly grease and line a 2lb loaf tin (I used a loaf liner for ease). Photo 01-10-2013 10 23 19
  3. Stir in the flour and egg into the fruit mixture, mix thoroughly then turn into the prepared tin and level the surface. Photo 01-10-2013 13 05 04
  4. Bake in the oven for 1.5 hrs or until well risen and firm. Leave to cool in the tin for 10 minutes, then turn out, peel off the parchment and finish cooling on a wire rack. Cut and serve buttered (it doesn’t need it though!)Photo 01-10-2013 13 35 09
10 thoughts on “Recipe 57: Bara Brith

  1. lauradanielle says:

    Hi Amy, thank you for this post! Just been invited to a St David’s Day barbeque here in Oz and decided to look for Welsh baking recipes (after rejecting the idea of just putting daffodils and leeks on a cake…). Mary’s recipe sounds perfect and it looks as though yours came out really well – I’ll give it a go! No incredible Lakeland in Australia, unfortunately, but I’ll work it out! The loaf tin liner looks like a dream invention! I’ll check out the rest of your blog, too – it looks great 🙂 Best of luck with the rest of your challenge – a very cool blog concept x

    • amyprescott92 says:

      Hello! Well first of all thank you for finding my blog! This recipe is perfect and it worked really well; make sure you soak the fruit the night before as that’s what makes it so great. Loaf liners are fabulous because it allows you to not have to grease the tin + you can eat the cake out of the liner!

      Thank you, please come back and have a look! xx

      • lauradanielle says:

        So sweet of you to respond! I have looked at much more of your blog since and just love it! Well done 🙂 Mary Berry’s book sounds magnificent – this may be a cookbook I have to invest in 🙂 I have a couple of the Great British Bake Off ones that I received as gifts but your posts make this book sound like a must-have. I’ll keep checking in to see how your challenge is going and to enjoy more of your great posts – will also link back to your blog when I make my bara brith in two weeks’ time – thanks for the fruit-soaking tip (any excuse to make tea :))xx

  2. athousandtimestooshort says:

    My fruit has been soaking all night; I’m baking at a friend’s this morning for a little one’s birthday, then coming home to do my bara brith this afternoon. Am so excited – and I found the loaf tin liners too 🙂

Leave a Reply

