Recipe 56: Banana & chocolate chip bars, with a twist.

It’s Friday! It’s finally here! I have been waiting all week to officially start the weekend with lots of cooking tonight; a stroke of luck today (my tutorial has been cancelled) means no journeys to uni and I can crack on with an exciting 3 course meal to prepare – more on that soon!

Recently, my house has been undergoing a bit of health kick but, I still have to bake! I can’t believe the sheer amount of things I still need to make before February (163 to be precise!!!); as I flicked through the book, I saw these little things:

Banana and choc-chip bars

…a really heathy snack, says Mary

Brilliant! Perfect! Photo 16-09-2013 00 08 46

My mum surprisingly loved them and took them to work with her, so imagine my disappointment when I went to get one and none were there! Do store them in the fridge due to the banana, don’t want them going mouldy.

Instead of using just banana, I decided to add chopped pecans, almonds, and dried cranberries to the mix, making it more of a substantial snack. Mary says to scatter the choc chips on top, but I think that the most effective way to include the chocolate may be to melt the chocolate and drizzle it over the top once cool. I found that the choc chips got in the way when cutting them and it just seemed a bit messy. For mine, I added approx 50-75 g of each ingredient and upped the flour/sugar/butter/chocolate (+ an extra banana) content in order to fit my 9″ square tin (you may have noticed I don’t have one!). Here I’ve included the original recipe, enjoy!

Ingredients:

  • 75 g wholemeal self-raising flour
  • 75 g porridge oats
  • 75 g demerara sugar
  • 100 g butter
  • 1 ripe banana, sliced
  • 25 g chocolate chips

Method:

  1. Preheat the oven to 180C/fan 160C/gas mark 4. Lightly grease a shallow 7″ square cake tin.
  2. In a large bowl, mix together the flour, oats and sugar; rub in the butter using your fingers until it resembles breadcrumbs. Spread half the mix over the base of the tin and press firmly; arrange the sliced banana over the top then sprinkle over the remaining mixture. Photo 15-09-2013 20 38 56Again, press down well to seal it all together and not crumble away later. Top with the chocolate chips (or reserve this until later). Photo 15-09-2013 20 44 14
  3. Bake in the oven for 25-35 mins until golden brown. Leave in the tin until completely cold; cut into bars, then drizzle the chocolate over the top to serve. Photo 16-09-2013 00 09 18

 

Leave a Reply

