Spread the love with homemade lemon curd

Good afternoon to all of you, it’s NEARLY Friday, almost…I’m currently enduring my worst day of the week as I have to get up at 6am, leave at 7.30am, lectures start at 9am and then I finish at 7pm! Urgh, let’s not think about it. Something to think about though – lemon curd. Photo 10-09-2013 13 51 26

I am a huge fan of the stuff, and have been since I was little – lemon curd sarnies anyone?! But, as I’ve got older (I say this at 20yrs and 349 days old), I seem to find the shop-bought lemon curd faaarrr too sweet. Am I the only one? Another great thing about this is the colouring; while the shop bought one is quite a pale yellow, this is wonderfully bold and bright (plus it doesn’t have any added nasties).

So when I spotted the recipe for it in the GBBO book, I just had to make it. A couple of weeks ago I made a pear and lemon tart, so this was the perfect opportunity to put it to the test. I never ever realised how easy it is to make, and so quick! Who knew you could make such a yummy thing in well under 15 mins? It has got me thinking about purchasing some jam jars and making some jams/curds as Christmas presents  sorry – probably too early to mention. I’ve used this recipe twice and both times it has been spot on and delicious – I would probably add a bit more of each ingredient to get the usual 400ml jar capacity but it looks very cute in smaller jars. Photo 10-09-2013 13 53 59

Ingredients:

  • 100 g butter, diced (unsalted)
  • 125 g caster sugar
  • Grated zest of 3 lemons
  • 100 ml lemon juice
  • 2 medium eggs
  • 2 egg yolks

Method:

  1. Add the butter, sugar, lemon juice and zest into a heatproof bowl; set it over a pan of simmering water and stir with a wooden spoon until the sugar has dissolved – it shouldn’t feel gritty at the bottom of the bowl anymore. Photo 10-09-2013 13 27 11
  2. Remove the bowl from the heat and set it on a heatproof surface; beat the whole eggs and the yolks in a small bowl with a fork until they are well mixed, then strain into the lemon mixture and then combine well. The second time I made this I didn’t use a sieve and it turned out fine – just beat the eggs well in the bowl before pouring into the lemon mixture. 
  3. Set the bowl back on the pan and stir (or use a balloon whisk) until the mixture becomes thick and opaque. Don’t turn the heat up or you will have scrambled eggs; it will look unpleasant at first with the butter on the surface but eventually it will mix together and combine something beautiful! The lemon curd is ready when you can draw a clear path through the mix on the back of a wooden spoon. Photo 10-09-2013 13 53 32
  4. Lift the bowl from the pan and spoon the curd into a large jar (400g) or 2 smaller jars with screw top lids. If using wax discs, cover or use cling film and press the film to the surface of the curd and leave to cool. Seal tightly with the lids and store in the fridge, use within 2 weeks.
2 thoughts on “Spread the love with homemade lemon curd

  1. themondaybaker says:

    I love curd. I’ve made redcurrant and blackberry curd this year …….along with some curd ice cream when a batch went wrong 😦 River Cottage have a great Bramley apple version which is worth a go as well.

Leave a Reply

