Recipe 51: Crunchy Top Lemon Cake

Good morning everyone, I am writing this on the morning of going back to uni for my final year (thankfully, I don’t start until 1pm!). Quite nervous if truth be told, probably just worried about all the work that is going to come and that dreaded dissertation, but it’s fine…fine…fine…

Anyway! I made this cake for my grandparents before they went off for 2 weeks to Cornwall (was incredibly jealous since we all know how much I love that part of England) and was told that it was very nice – very light, moist, lemony and sweet! Mary suggests using a round 7″ tin but since I didn’t have one of those, I used my loaf tin with my new loaf liners – I think it just looks much better.

Ingredients:

  • 100 g butter, softened
  • 175 g caster sugar
  • 175 g self raising flour
  • 1 tsp baking powder
  • 2 eggs, beaten
  • 4 tbsp milk (+ extra if mix is too stiff)
  • Zest of 1 lemon

For the topping:

  • Juice of 1 lemon
  • 100 g caster sugar

Method:

  1. Preheat the oven to 180C/fan 160C/gas mark 4. Grease and line the base of a 7″ deep cake tin (I however used a 2lb loaf tin). Photo 27-08-2013 11 28 56
  2. Add all of the cake ingredients to a large bowl and beat for approx 2 mins until smooth and well incorporated. Turn the mixture into your prepared tin and level the surface.Photo 27-08-2013 11 32 19
  3. Bake in the oven for about 35 mins or until it has shrunk slightly from the sides of the tin and springs back when lightly pressed.
  4. Meanwhile, while the cake is in the oven, make the topping. Add the lemon juice and sugar into a bowl and stir until blended. When the cake comes out of the oven, spread the lemon sugar paste over the top while it is still hot. Leave it to cool completely before removing it from the tin. Photo 27-08-2013 12 23 31
2 thoughts on “Recipe 51: Crunchy Top Lemon Cake

Leave a Reply

