Recipe 50: Drop Scones

FINALLY 50 RECIPES DOWN!

It feels as though it has taken so long to get here, but it’s nice to think that there are 169 recipes to go, as opposed to the 219 when I first begun! I would say, that my favourite cake so far would have to be the Millionaire’s Shortbread or the chocolate and date loaf.

When I was flicking through the book I saw the heading for ‘drop scones’, from first glances at the title, I hadn’t the foggiest about what it was, until Mary says about them being another name for scotch pancakes. Now, pancakes are one of my favourite things to have for breakfast; unlike some, I’m not a fan of the full English brekkie because I feel it sets me up wrongly for the day. Instead, I prefer a bowl of fresh fruit, low fat Greek yoghurt and a nice helping of granola – of which I have been meaning to make for a while now (…should really get on that!). Otherwise, if I get the chance, I WILL make pancakes. I’ve tried many different things for pancakes: chocolate inside them, with fruit, with bacon, but scotch pancakes are almost certainly the ones which come up trumps.

On our first morning of our holiday in Yorkshire, I thought I’d make these because they were quick, easy and used little ingredients. Apart from not enjoying the electric oven (I’m a gas oven gal), they did turn out well and we all enjoyed them with fruit and maple syrup. Apologies for the lack of pictures this time! Photo 31-08-2013 08 36 07

Ingredients:

  • 175 g self raising flour
  • 1 tsp baking powder
  • 40 g caster sugar
  • 1 large egg
  • 200 ml milk

Method:

  1. In a bowl, add the flour, baking powder and sugar into a large bowl and make a well in the centre; add the egg and half of the milk. Whisk until the mixture is smooth and thick, then beat in the remaining milk.
  2. Place a non-stick pan on the hob and place on a medium heat, allow to heat up. Drop tbsp amounts into the pan and allow to cook until bubbles appear on the surface – then flip over and cook for a further 30 secs – 1 min.
  3. Cook the others in the same way and serve warm. EASY! Photo 31-08-2013 08 35 42
Leave a Reply

