Recipe 49: Florentines

Good morning and welcome to the new week, can’t believe I only have 1 more week left of my very long summer break and then it’s back to uni for my final year. Scary to think I was only just beginning this time 2 years ago – need to start considering what I’ll do with my life now.

 

Before I went away to Yorkshire, I made these florentines for the journey; I had huge expectations of them due to eating them in Bruges during the Easter holidays. They are one of the most delicious things I’ve had and didn’t realise they were so easy to make. However, I was disappointed by the size of them; the book says to use tsp amounts as they spread out (I imagined an Anzac biscuit situation here) but they didn’t spread as much as anticipated and some of them came out tiny! For my taste anyway, there was too much mixed candied peel, so if I were to make them again, I’d probably use more of the basic ingredients and glacé cherries, but less of the peel. The recipe didn’t make 20, I had a total of 16; another thing, the stated quantity for the chocolate coating was far too much and so I had a lot of leftover melted chocolate, I’d probably also use dark instead of milk chocolate too, it needs the bitterness for a bit more edge. You could also play around with the flavours, adding ginger or cinnamon, with nuts and other fruit.

Anyway, here is the recipe I followed:

Ingredients:

  • 50 g butter
  • 50 g demerara sugar
  • 50 g golden syrup
  • 50 g plain flour
  • 4 glace or natural cherries
  • 50 g finely chopped mixed candied peel
  • 50 g finely chopped mixed almonds and walnuts
  • 175 g plain chocolate

Method:

  1. Preheat the oven to 180C/fan 160C/gas mark 4. Line 3 baking trays with baking parchment.Photo 29-08-2013 18 06 20
  2. Add the butter, sugar and syrup to a pan and heat gently until the butter has melted; remove from the heat and add the flour, cherries, peel and nuts to the pan and stir to mix well. Spoon teaspoonfuls of the mixture on the trays, leaving room in between for them to spread.Photo 29-08-2013 18 08 57
  3. Place in the oven and bake for 8-10 mins until golden brown; allow the florentines to harden and cool for a few minutes before lifting off of the parchment paper and placing onto a wire rack to finish cooling completely.Photo 29-08-2013 18 44 44
  4. Break the chocolate into pieces and add to a heatproof bowl set over a pan of simmering water. When melted, spread over the flat base of each one and leave to set choc side up on the rack. Photo 29-08-2013 19 40 33

 

3 thoughts on “Recipe 49: Florentines

Leave a Reply

