Recipe 45/46: Iced Fairy Cakes

Bonjour bloggers! I’m currently enjoying a week away from London in North Yorkshire, so these posts are a bit delayed due to having zero phone signal and Internet. As I’ve said before, cupcakes and fairy cakes aren’t really my favourite things to make but I knew I would eventually have to; the best thing is that I had an occasion for them – 30 children!

20130904-110806.jpg

As I have blogged about before, l volunteer for Solidarity Sports, a London-based charity whom aims to help inner city children get healthy and learn about healthy eating. As I was asked to go along and take some photos, I thought I’d bake a little treat to take with me! As this recipe makes 12, I had to make three times more, so my bowl of cake mix was hugeee! Luckily enough, I managed to use the set amount of icing to ice and decorate all 36 cakes, so if using to make 12, you could probably just halve the ingredients.

Ingredients:

100 g softened butter
100 g caster sugar
2 large eggs
100 g self raising flour
1 tsp baking powder

For the icing:
225 g icing sugar, sifted
2-3 tbsp warm water
Sweets, to decorate (I used Smarties)

Method:

1. Preheat the oven to 200C/ fan 180C/ gas mark 6. Place 12 fairy cake cases into a 12-hole bun tin.
2. Add all the ingredients to a large bowl and beat for approx 2-3 mins, until well blended and smooth. Add the mixture to the cases, ensuring they are equally filled.
3. Bake in the oven for 15-20 mins until well risen and golden brown; lift out of the tin and place the cakes on a wire rack to cool.20130904-110946.jpg

4. To make the icing, add the icing sugar to a bowl and gradually add the warm water until the icing is fairly thick. Spoon over the top and decorate with your sweets! Cute!

20130904-111225.jpg

One thought on “Recipe 45/46: Iced Fairy Cakes

Leave a Reply

