Recipe 41: Fast Flapjacks

I’m not sure I’m a fan of shop-bought flapjacks, or those in coffee shops; I don’t know what it is about them but they seem a bit too buttery? Do you get what I mean? I remember I used to buy those granola bars from Starbucks and you could see it through those brown bags you get given…put me off them. Photo 10-08-2013 21 28 26

My mum loves flapjacks, and has asked me on occasion to make her some – usually I’m not too keen with all the butter and sugar and golden syrup…but since I needed to make them anyway and they were in Mary’s book, I thought why not. Flapjacks can be easily adapted, anything can be added – chocolate, seeds, dried fruit…whatever takes your fancy. Photo 10-08-2013 21 33 36

So I got ready, equipment out and then realised, I haven’t got any porridge oats! I couldn’t understand it, as far as I was aware, there was a huge box of them in the cupboard…but no, none to be found. So instead of scrapping the plan, I thought I’d tweak a few things to make them a bit more interesting and to suit what I already had. Instead of the porridge oats, I decided to use granola and add chocolate chips to the mix too. Naïvely, I stirred in the chocolate with the granola and so instead of chips, it turned into just chocolate flapjacks (accidental improvement…). I probably left them in the oven a bit too long however, they were in for the time allocated so possibly could have done with just 28-30 mins instead of the full 35 mins. Anyway, here’s the original recipe:

Ingredients:

  • 225 g butter
  • 225 g demerara sugar (I used soft brown sugar)
  • 75 g golden syrup
  • 275 g porridge oats (or plain granola)
  • 60 g plain chocolate chips (if you wanted!)  

Method:

  1. Preheat the oven to 160C/fan 140C/gas mark 3. Grease a 12 x 9″ traybake tin (or roasting tin).Photo 10-08-2013 18 11 09
  2. Melt the butter in a large saucepan along with the sugar and golden syrup and then stir in your oats (and chocolate). Mix well, then turn into the prepared tin and press flat with a palette knife. Photo 10-08-2013 18 22 10
  3. Bake for 28-35 mins depending on your oven; remove and leave to cool for 10 minutes. Mark into squares and leave to finish cooling in the tin. Photo 10-08-2013 19 18 35
Leave a Reply

