Al-Fresco Burgers, handmade down to the bun

Photo 10-08-2013 19 54 16Last weekend I really had a craving for a burger; as I’ve mentioned, I’m trying to be good and not eat anything too naughty. I could have easily gone to a restaurant but since burgers seem to be a bit pricey (in the nice restaurants, not take-aways), I thought I would do it myself, I’ve made them before but thought I would go one step further and make the buns too. I made 4 burgers out of a 250 g lean minced beef packet for the evening and they went down a treat. Photo 10-08-2013 16 33 26

For the burgers:

  • 1 small onion, finely chopped
  • 250 g good-quality lean beef mince
  • 1 egg
  • 4 burger buns
  • 50 g breadcrumbs
  • Salt and freshly ground black pepper
  • Splash of worcester sauce
  • Large pinch of paprika

Recipe for the buns can be found here: from Blackbird Bread, the lovely husband and wife team who have started to offer baking classes in the local area, you can read my blog post about it here. I followed all the stages, and then for the final prove shaped into rolls; before putting into the oven I glazed them with 1 beaten egg in order to replicate the shiny top. Photo 10-08-2013 19 43 03

Method:

  1. In a bowl, add all the ingredients for the burgers and mix using your hands until all well combined.
  2. Divide the mix into 4 balls, place on a plate and flatten until resembling burgers. Cover and place in the fridge for 1hr-overnight to allow to firm.
  3. When ready to cook, you can do them in a number of ways – on the bbq, in a pan or like me, on the grill. Cook until golden in colour and cooked all the way through.
  4. Cut open your burger buns, place your burger inside, and enjoy with salad and saucy (wahey) accompaniments. Easy! Photo 10-08-2013 19 53 25
Leave a Reply

