Recipe 39: Chocolate Crispies

4On the weekend, we took a little drive down to Portsmouth to have a look around the shopping outlets, see the sea and get some really decent fish and chips. I have had the biggest craving for ages, but since I have been trying to lose weight (1lb to go until its 1st!) I had put it off. So I took my opportunity and found a great little place called The Boat Deck on the South Parade Pier:

IMG-20130817-02022

It was honestly, the best fish and chips I had eaten, and the best part was that I could be with my two very best friends which made it even better. So since I love them dearly, I thought they needed a little treat for when we got there after an hour or so; I had made these the evening before purely because they were so so easy and quick to do – involved no baking and minimal mess = perfect. I remember having these when I was little and my mum still loves them! Great for little kiddies to make and enjoy because they’re small and bitesized.

Ingredients:

  • 225 g plain chocolate (39%) – I would probably advise using a bit more, maybe 275 g
  • 1 tbsp golden syrup
  • 50 g butter
  • 75 g cornflakes OR Rice Ctrispies

Method:

  1. Photo 16-08-2013 14 26 29Break the chocolate into pieces and put into a medium saucepan along with the syrup and butter. Allow it to melt over a low heat and stir occasionally. While melting, put 12 (it says it makes 18 but I only managed 12 small ones) cake cases onto a large baking tray.Photo 16-08-2013 14 32 35
  2. Add the cornflakes to the pan and stir gently until all evenly coated in the chocolate mix.
  3. Spoon into the cases and leave to chill in the fridge to set.ย Photo 16-08-2013 14 48 12
4 thoughts on “Recipe 39: Chocolate Crispies

  1. PigLove says:

    That fish looks fantastic! I would definitely have to fight daddy for a nibble of that. And the chocolate crispies – mom would hit the floor. I think chocolate runs through her veins! XOXO – Bacon

Leave a Reply

