Recipe 35: Lemon Yoghurt Cake

Hello there readers; it has been such a long time since I blogged anything, this has mainly been due to the ridiculous heat wave we had here over the past few weeks! As much as I love to cook and bake, I just couldn’t face switching the oven on! Before I kick off this Mary Berry recipe, I do have a few things to share with everyone.

Last week I was kindly invited to a taster class run by Mark from Blackbird Bread, giving me the opportunity to learn from a real bread maker! I’d only made bread a handful of times so this gave the chance to pick up some tips and hints about how to get the ultimate crust on the outside, plus good techniques for proving and kneading. Photo 02-08-2013 21 13 01Mark taught us how to make soda bread, something I had been curious to make but had never got round to – I never realised it could be so easy!

Photo 02-08-2013 21 08 44

Where the magic happens…The Coffee Lab

If you want to see more from Blackbird Bread, click on the link. If you live in or near Twickenham (and the surrounding area) and you want to brush up on your bread skills without spending an enormous amount of dough (aaahh see what I did there?!), why not book a class and see for yourself how much fun it can be! The classes are hosted at The Coffee Lab, where George will make you the best coffee around as you eagerly await your bread to rise.Photo 02-08-2013 22 05 03

I would also like to give Putney Bake Club a mention too; if anyone who reads this lives in Putney, Sheen, Wimbledon, Wandsworth (and other surrounding areas) + you like to bake and meet others to do, I would suggest you get yourself onto the blog, follow the Twitter page and like them on Facebook. Ever since going for the first time before Easter, I’m hooked, it’s a great way to meet others who share a passion for cake and chatting!1150210_1401656743386873_2014917135_n

Are we making a lemon cake or not?

So I made this cake a little while back but hadn’t had the chance to blog it due to things going on at home and the heat and me just wanting to sit in the freezer until the temperature had dropped! When I usually think of baking something from Mary’s book I tend to just flick through until something catches my eye. On this particularly day, I didn’t fancy something with lots of chocolate or really rich. What appealed to me with this recipe was the fact I could alter the ingredients in the way of changing the fat content – so for the Greek yoghurt, I used Total 0%. It came out really well, had a very light texture (not dense and stodgy) with a beautiful lemony taste – it passed the taste test in my house, so see if it does in yours!DSC_0571

Ingredients:

  • 300 g caster sugar
  • 50 g softened butter
  • 3 large eggs, separated
  • 225 g Greek yoghurt
  • Grated rind of 1 lemon
  • 175 g self raising flour

For the icing:

  • 100 g sifted icing sugar
  • Roughly 2 tbsp lemon juice

Method:

  1. Preheat the oven to 180C/Fan 160C/ gas mark 4. Grease an 8″ deep round cake tin and line the base with baking parchment.DSC_0543
  2. Beat together the butter, sugar and egg yolks in a bowl; add the yoghurt and beat until smooth, then gently fold in the flour. In a separate bowl, whisk the egg whites until soft peaks and then carefully fold into the mixture (I hate this part, folding is not my forte!). Turn into your prepared cake tin.DSC_0545
  3. Bake in the centre of the oven for 1 mins – 90 mins or until it is well risen and firm. Allow to cool in the tin for 5 mins, then turn out onto a wire rack; carefully peel off the parchment and then leave to cool completely.DSC_0547
  4. For the finishing touches and a yummy lemon icing; mix together the icing sugar and lemon juice. Spread on top of your cold cake, smooth over with a palette knife and allow to set (if you can resist!).DSC_0553
2 thoughts on “Recipe 35: Lemon Yoghurt Cake

Leave a Reply

