Recipe 27: Chocolate Chip American Muffins

Hello everyone, I can’t believe how long it has been since I last posted on my blog, but do please forgive me! The past 3 weeks have been incredibly testing due to exams, but I can now say that after learning 2 essays (4000 words) for one exam, and trying to learn about 8 different topics for another, my second year at university is finally over! Everyone just please keep their fingers crossed that I’ve done enough and no re-sits are necessary!

It is a very strange feeling to not have work to do, exams to prepare for, essays to write, deadlines to meet and so on, I’ve been able to not wake up at 7am to crack on. So for the next 4 months, I’m hoping to get through as much of Mary’s Baking Bible as possible, and with dinners and deserts, so do please keep checking back.Photo 09-05-2013 23 07 10

Upon finishing my exams, I managed to get myself back to normal, starting off with a major spring clean of my room, new curtains and a new mattress! I know, it’s all going on in this house right. I’ve got quite a backlog of things to blog, so I thought I would start of with Mary’s chocolate muffins. As you all know, I’m not a fan of cupcakes just because I find them too sweet, but I do like the occasional muffin. The reason I thought I’d make these were because they’re simple, quick and everyone likes them, all were eaten in the house which is a good sign. I did have a few issues with this particular recipe:

  • The recipe made 11 not 12.
  • Gas Mark 6 was quite high, causing some of them to get a bit dark, so I’d turn it down to 5, and always make sure they’re on the middle shelf.
  • If I had made them with more mixture, there wouldn’t have been enough for 11, therefore didn’t achieve the stereotypical muffin-look.

Ingredients 

  • 250 g self-raising flour
  • 1 tsp baking powder
  • 50 g softened butter
  • 75 g caster sugar
  • 175 g plain choc chips
  • 2 eggs
  • 1 tsp vanilla extract
  • 250 ml milk

Method

  1. Pre-heat the oven to 200C/fan 180/gas mark 6. Place your muffin liners into your muffin tin.
  2. Add the flour and baking powder to a bowl, add the butter and then rub together until the mixture resembles fine breadcrumbs. Photo 09-05-2013 22 22 36
  3. Stir in the sugar and choc chips.
  4. In a jug (or bowl), mix together the eggs, vanilla and milk; pour the mixture into the dry ingredients all in one go. Mix quickly to blend.Photo 09-05-2013 22 22 58
  5. It should be lumpy! Spoon the mix into the cases, filling almost to the top.
  6. Bake on the middle shelf of the oven for 20-25 minutes, until well risen and firm to the touch. Leave to cool on a wire rack. Photo 09-05-2013 23 06 19
Leave a Reply

