Recipe 25: Easy Lemon Cheesecake

Before I kick off, here is a picture from my excursion Lincolnshire!

Photo 04-05-2013 18 48 10

So, let’s talk cheesecake. This is my true weakness when it comes to baking; it makes me nervous, the ingredients are somewhat expensive most of the time, I worry it’s never going to set, and so on. Honestly, this was my 3rd attempt at making a cheesecake, but this time it’s Mary’s way.

Both times I had tried making a cheesecake, I thought it would be good idea to use light/low fat cream cheese. WRONG. DID NOT WORK, DIDN’T SET AND MADE A MESS! So when I read in the ingredients list that low fat cream cheese was included, my heart sank to the pit of my stomach and I didn’t know if to follow my instinct or just follow the recipe. I went with Mary, and she didn’t let me down.

There is one thing I will say, the base is not good enough with 10 biscuits and 50 g butter. If I were to do it again (fat chance, cheesecakes and I are not friends), I would increase these amounts to make sure it has an adequate crust that can withstand cutting and pushing out from the flan tin. I also decided not to top it all with lots of whipped cream because for me, it would ruin it; I did however add strawberries and mint leaves for decoration. Other than that, a lovely recipe with a profound lemon taste which set! Hurray!

Ingredients

For the base:

  • 10 digestive biscuits
  • 50 g butter
  • 25 g demerara sugar

For the cheesecake filling:

  • 150 ml single cream
  • 397 g can condensed milk
  • 175 g low-fat soft cheese
  • Grated rind and juice of 3 lemons

For the topping:

  • 150 ml whipping or double cream (whipped)
  • Fresh strawberries
  • Mint leaves (optional)

Method

  1. Put the digestive biscuits into a plastic sandwich bag and crush with a rolling pin.
  2. Melt the butter in a medium sized pan; remove it from the heat and stir in the biscuit crumbs and the demerara sugar.
  3. Press evenly over the base and sides of a 9″ flan dish, then leave to set. Photo 29-04-2013 19 22 37
  4. For the filling, mix together the cream, condensed milk, soft cheese and lemon rind.
  5. Add the lemon juice a little at a time, whisking until the mixture begins to thicken. It will happen I promise, just keep going!Photo 29-04-2013 19 47 40 
  6. Pour into the case and leave to chill in the fridge overnight.Photo 29-04-2013 19 52 32
  7. Decorate with cream (if you wish) and strawberries, add the mint leaves for a decorative touch
  8. Photo 30-04-2013 14 38 09

 

Leave a Reply

