Paul Hollywood’s Banana, Walnut and Chocolate Loaf

Photo 04-05-2013 18 55 05

Hello everyone, I feel like it’s been such a long time since I blogged, but I’m here to catch up on all the lovely things that have been made in my household recently! As I type these things, I’m coming to you live from Lincolnshire, a long way from London town hey. Since I’m catching up with these posts, maybe I’ll post a picture of where I am on each!

Photo 04-05-2013 18 48 36

I do love a nice loaf cake, especially when it’s banana bread. Considering I’d made Mary Berry’s version, and I’ve got my own one blogged centuries ago somewhere, I thought it was time to give this a go. It came out beautifully; it had a great texture, kept for a long time in an airtight container, the walnuts gave it a nice crunch and the chocolate was the icing on the cake (if you pardon the pun!)

Photo 24-04-2013 14 20 19

By all reports, I have been told that this loaf is a great tasting addition, especially when with a cup of tea. So here’s the recipe and give me a shout if you make it as well! Online, there were lots of comments suggesting it produces a bad bake, the mixture didn’t rise properly or the mixture curdled during the mixing stage. Although I found the process stranger and something I’m not particularly accustomed to, the cake DID rise, and it didn’t produce a bad bake – so you never know until you try it yourself. In future, I would probably cream the butter and sugar together first, but here’s how Paul did it.

Photo 23-04-2013 23 57 15

Ingredients:

  • 4 ripe bananas , peeled and mashed
  • 250 g caster sugar
  • 2 eggs
  • 140 g softened butter
  • 250 g plain flour
  • 2 tsp baking powder
  • 100 g walnut pieces
  • 100 g chocolate chips

Method:

  1. Heat oven to 190C/170C fan/gas 5.
  2. Line a 2lb loaf tin with baking parchment.
  3. In a large bowl, mash together the bananas and the sugar with the back of a fork.
  4. Add the eggs and mix well with an electric hand whisk until fully incorporated, then add the butter and mix for a couple mins more to blend everything together.
  5. Sieve in the flour and baking powder and fold together with a spatula, then add the walnuts and chocolate chips.
  6. Give everything one final mix before tipping into the lined loaf tin.
  7. Bake for 1 hr 5 mins (middle shelf) or until a skewer inserted into the middle comes out clean. Leave to cool slightly in the tin, then turn out and serve cut into thick slices, either warm or at room temperature. If you find the cake is catching before it is fully cooked, cover with a piece of baking parchment or foil to prevent burning your little fella!

Photo 24-04-2013 14 19 49

One thought on “Paul Hollywood’s Banana, Walnut and Chocolate Loaf

Leave a Reply

