Recipe 22: Banana loaf/cake

Hello everyone, long time no speak! I hope you’ve missed me! I apologise for the lack of blogging (if anyone’s noticed) but it’s coming to that time in the university semester where everything is due…I’m writing this with tired eyes. However, since all work is nearly complete, I thought I’d take this opportunity to catch up with my Mary Berry challenge! May I also add…how beautiful is the weather lately, too good to be true?

As I said in one of my earlier blog posts, I recently sold my old car and bought a new one. The problem with living in London though, is the constant need for parking permits and on my road, no driveways. My uncle however, does have a garage and no need for parking permits (lucky sod), so he looked after my old car while I was trying to sell it.

As my way of saying thank you for his help, I thought I’d make him one of Mary’s cakes – the banana loaf. Although I didn’t get to try it, by all accounts, it went down a treat.

Screen Shot 2013-04-25 at 10.48.10To make things slightly different, I made a few changes:

  • I made it more into a round cake instead of a loaf, using my lovely new cake liners 
  • Added a frosting
  • ADDED A CREAM CHEESE FROSTING
  • Adorned it with fresh banana slices

Although banana loaves are lovely without frosting, I wanted it too almost look more than it was, since it was for someone else. I used a standard recipe for the frosting, which I’ll include below, and the banana slices were brushed with lemon juice in order to prevent them from going brown.

DSC_1330

 

Ingredients (Banana cake)

  • 100 g softened butter
  • 175 g caster sugar
  • 2 large eggs
  • 2 ripe bananas, mashed
  • 225 g self-raising flour
  • 1 tsp baking powder
  • 2 – 4 tbsp milk

Ingredients (cream cheese frosting)

  • 125 g cream cheese (e.g. Philidelphia) 
  • 50 g unsalted butter, at room temperature (or slightly softened)
  • 200 g icing sugar, sifted
  • 1 tsp vanilla extract
  • 1 banana, sliced

Method

  1. Pre-heat the oven to 180C/fan 160/gas mark 4. Lightly grease a 2lb loaf tin, and line the sides and bottom with greaseproof paper. OR use a round cake liner if you don’t want to use a loaf tin.DSC_1271
  2. Add all the ingredients to a large bowl and beat for 2 minutes until well blended. Spoon into your prepared tin or liner and level the surface.DSC_1300
  3. Bake in the oven (middle shelf) for roughly 1 hour. You may find it needs a bit longer, if so, turn the temperature down slightly and place a piece of foil over the top of the cake in order to prevent the top turning too dark.
  4. Leave to cool in the tin for a few minutes and then turn out onto a wire rack to cool.

For the cream cheese frosting:

  1. Use an electric beater to beat the cream cheese and butter in a bowl until combined.
  2. Add the icing sugar and beat until incorporated. Add your vanilla extract and continue to beat.
  3. Spread on top of your cake when it is completely cool; brush the lemon slices with the lemon juice, and then arrange on top of the frosting.

DSC_1322

Leave a Reply

