Recipe 19: Crunchy Orange Syrup Loaf

Hello everyone! I hope we are well and dandy. I would like to announce that I have found myself something I quite enjoy…spinning! By that I mean at the gym on the bikes, not spinning around…ahem.  It’s a brilliant workout and something I hope to continue every week, so that’s my new thing of the week, what’s yours?

While we’re on the subject of new things, I have bought my second car, and as of today have just sold my old one!

IMG-20130323-01199

My first car – lovingly known as WooWoo (Daewoo Matiz)

My new car, we've called her 'Igloo' due to the shape!

My new car, we’ve called her ‘Igloo’ due to the shape!

So with all those other things out the way, the next new thing to share with you all is a wonderful loaf cake of Mary’s: the Crunchy Orange Syrup Loaf. In the book, it does state however that the mixture makes two of these cakes, but it simply does not! Even in a smaller tin, still only had enough for one small loaf. Therefore, do not half the quantities under this assumption – otherwise you’ll have hardly anything!

DSC_1067

The cake itself is incredibly delicious; it’s very similar to the lemon drizzle in basically every sense however the glaze is made with granulated sugar and not icing sugar like it’s lemony cousin. For me, I’m made about oranges  so it suited me very well. It also stayed very moist, and so will keep well for a few days if covered properly in foil or an airtight container. My family loved it, and I’m sure yours will too.

My only thing about it, if I had to pick something, was that the topping could have been crunchier. Mary says to use granulated sugar, but maybe demerara sugar and the combination of orange juice would have been a better solution….? If anyone has done this, or intends to try, let me know how it goes!

I love a good slice of cake, but nothing too sweet; I’m not keen on thick, sugary, fondant icing or anything along those lines. Generally speaking, I like my cake to go with a cup of tea and not make me feel sicky. However, although I don’t like to eat it, it does strike me at how amazing icing can be made to look and represent. Personally I don’t think I’d have the patience to do it, but respect to anyone who does. So all in all, use your loaf (ahh good pun) and sit down with a cuppa to enjoy its full potential.

Ingredients:

  • 100 g softened butter
  • 175 g self-raising flour
  • 1 tsp baking powder
  • 175 g caster sugar
  • 2 large eggs
  • 4-7 tbsp milk
  • Finely grated rind of 1 orange

For the top:

    • Juice of 1 orange
    • 100 g granulated sugar

Method:

  1. Preheat the oven to 180C/fan 160C/ gas mark 4. Grease and line ONE 1LB loaf tin (or use loaf liners – so much easier). 
  2. Add all the ingredients into a large bowl and beat well for 2-3 minutes. Pour into your tin and level the surface.DSC_1025
  3. Bake for 30-40 minutes or until the loaves spring back when it is lightly pressed (or check using a skewer).
  4. While the cakes are baking, you can make the crunchy topping. Add the orange juice and the sugar into a small bowl and stir to mix.
  5. Spread the mixture over the loaf while it is still hot – then leave to cool completely in the tin.

    DSC_1028

    Beware – very sticky!

  6. Turn out, and remove your parchment when cold. Enjoy its zestiness!

 

DSC_1054

7 thoughts on “Recipe 19: Crunchy Orange Syrup Loaf

  1. Ellen says:

    Self raising AND baking powder…I don’t get that combination…I tried it and my cake turned out so air-hold yet yours looks so scrummy and dense…any tips?? Did I over mix?

    • amyprescott92 says:

      I know exactly what you mean, I looked at the recipe a bit bewildered but it did work. I think the only thing I would say is to either try creaming the butter and sugar together first instead of putting it all in one bowl. OR do it as above and use 4 tbsp only of milk initially; you should find the mix a bit stiff, so then add a dash more and keep beating. I usually go by the colour when I’m mixing! Pale and stiff is seemingly the winner x

  2. Lisa says:

    I’ve tried this recipe 3 times now & a flop each time. Something is not right. It starts off really well & then towards the end it just sinks right down in the middle?? Can I not just use self raising flour without the baking powder?

    • amyprescott92 says:

      Hi Lisa, I’m sorry to hear it hasn’t worked for you! Have you tried cooking on a slightly lower temp and for a longer amount of time? You could definitely try not using the baking powder but it shouldn’t cause it to sink unless there is too much of it being used. Let me know how you get on in future!

Leave a Reply

