Recipe 18: Blueberry Muffins

Photo 28-03-2013 22 58 37

Howdy bloggers, happy Thursday!

I can’t believe that my Easter break from uni is almost over, I cannot express the dread I am feeling for Monday. Work work work until May, then a glorious 4 months off…gosh I need to find a summer job or something.

Preferably to do with food, in a bakery, or something like that (I wish).

Back to muffins.

This post is going to be quite short as there really is not much to elaborate on regarding these muffins. As far as blueberry muffins, they’re very nice, but nothing special nor exciting. I can imagine these would have been nice (as suggested) warm from the oven for breakfast – but as you can guess, I didn’t do that. The adding of the lemon does have a significant effect on the smell of the muffins – especially if you come back to them the next day, you can really really smell it. If I were to make these again, I would probably leave the lemon out as it’s a bit unnecessary.

Nevermind.

I feel that my progress through the book is slowing down, but I do have 2 more recipes to share so I’m getting there! Watch this space!

Ingredients (Makes 12):

  • 250 g self-raising flour
  • 1 tsp baking powder
  • 50 g softened butter
  • 75 g caster sugar
  • 175 g blueberries
  • Grated rind of 1 lemon
  • 2 large eggs
  • 250 ml milk

Method:

  1. Preheat the oven to 200C/180C fan/gas mark 6. Line a 12-hole muffin pan with paper cases.
  2. Add the flour and baking powder to a large bowl. Add the butter and rub together until the mixture resembles fine breadcrumbs.
  3. Stir in the sugar, blueberries and lemon rind. Photo 28-03-2013 22 20 28
  4. Mix together the eggs and milk (I used a jug) and then pour it all into the dry ingredients.
  5. The mixture will have a lumpy consistency; spoon into the cases – filling almost to the top.Photo 28-03-2013 22 27 59
  6. Bake in the oven (middle shelf) for about 20-25 minutes until they are well risen, golden and firm to the touch.
  7. Leave to cool in the tray for a few minutes, then lift out to cool on a wire rack.

Photo 28-03-2013 23 02 41

2 thoughts on “Recipe 18: Blueberry Muffins

Leave a Reply

