What a beauty: My first marble cake

Photo 16-03-2013 15 24 04

For those of you who follow me, and those who don’t, I welcome you to this blog – which is all about cooking/baking and trying new things. Until around May last year, I really couldn’t bake at all, or if I could, I’d give it a go then give up because it didn’t go quite as I wanted it to. I loved to cook main meals and what not, but never really liked the idea of baking.

However, due to the extensive summer breaks university brings, I really got into this new world of creating something from scratch. So as I say, this blog is all about baking my way through Mary Berry’s ‘Baking Bible’ as well as other additions from elsewhere from time to time.

This post comes from Paul Hollywood’s book ‘How to Bake’. Since we were holding a little tea party, I had a think at what would be nice to eat amongst friends. I didn’t want to have anything to heavy, stodgy or naughty; while flicking through Paul’s book, I came across this beauty – the marble cake. 

Mad Hatter's tea party!

Mad Hatter’s tea party!

Marble cake is something I’d only experienced through dear old Mr. Kipling and the like, so I thought this would be a brilliant thing to attempt; I wanted to add another string to my baking repertoire, and I must say, this cake was delicious!

Ingredients:

  • 200 g unsalted butter
  • 200 g caster sugar
  • 1.5 tsp natural vanilla
  • 3 large eggs
  • 250 g plain flour
  • 3 tsp baking powder
  • 40 ml full fat milk
  • 2 tsp cocoa powder
  • Icing sugar to dust

Method:

  1. Preheat the oven to 180C/fan 160C/gas mark 4. Line a 1 kg loaf tin with baking parchment and set aside.
  2. Beat the butter, 180 g of the caster sugar and vanilla extract together in a large bowl until the mixture becomes light and fluffy.
  3. Beat in the eggs, one at a time, then sift in the flour and baking powder over the top of the mix. Fold in with 2 tbsp of the milk.
  4. Spoon 2/3 of the mixture into your prepared loaf tin, and level out so it is even.
  5. Sift the cocoa powder over the remaining mixture in the bowl; add in the remaining caster sugar and the rest of the milk – fold in together.
  6. Spoon the chocolate cake mixture oven the cake mix in the tin, then run a form (or skewer) through both mixtures. The aim is to gently swirl it together to create the marbled effect that you want.
  7. Bake on the middle shelf for 55-75 minutes (mine needed all the time required by 10 mins more!), until the cake shrinks away from the side of the tin – test the cake with a skewer at the 55 minute stage.
  8. Remove from the tin, and leave to cool on a wire rack. Once cooled dust with icing sugar; serve it sliced so your guests can see the wonderful marble effect you’ve achieved!

Photo 16-03-2013 15 26 09

Leave a Reply

