Recipe 13: Dark, indulgent, chocolate & walnut brownies

Hello everyone!

I would like to start this blog post by saying THANK YOU! Thank you for following me, reading my blog posts and commenting. I really cannot say how much I genuine appreciate it; to have these things read, and to be followed means the world to me.

….enough with the Oscar speech, Amy, we’ve got business to attend to.

Yes! Brownies!

Photo 09-03-2013 19 40 52

This week, I decided to pop the brownie cherry (so to speak) and get on with it. I had never made brownies before. I have no idea why, possibly because I’m not a huge fan of them? They’re nice and all, and can be quite comforting, but brownies just seem to feel too indulgent, too naughty and dense. Maybe that’s just me, but I do get the appeal; the nicest quality in a brownie is how soft and chewy they are in the middle…yet crisp on the top.

So yes, this recipe is a winner! Went down a treat, and were nice to come home to after a tough day at uni after giving an incredibly nerve-racking presentation in front of a group of about 40 people! Public speaking is not my forté.

What can I say about these brownies. Well, they are extremely nice, but mine did not cut how I wanted to, seemed to leave a lot behind in the tin when I tried to get them out; tin was lined with greaseproof paper. It seems that once 1/4 of them are out the way, the rest becomes considerably easier. The inclusion of the walnuts are a lovely touch and gives them some crunch! If i were to make these again, I think the use of cranberries in the mix would be brilliant, ending up in chew and crunch (ooh, alliteration hello!)

One thing I’ll be honest about: I left them in the oven for a bit longer than I should have done. Sorry! I suppose I thought they weren’t quite ready to come out and just left them in, nevermind, sifted icing sugar over the top covered up my mistake! So therefore, make sure they’re only in for the allotted amount of time and no more! Easy. This also goes without saying, avoid if you’re on a strict diet, or just be careful when indulging, there is SO much chocolate in these little things. These generally aren’t something I tend to eat, but all those chocolate lovers out there will definitely enjoy them.

Ingredients (makes about 20-24 squares):

  • 350 g plain/dark chocolate
  • 225 g butter
  • 2 tsp instant coffee
  • 2 tbsp hot water
  • 3 large eggs
  • 225 g caster sugar
  • 1 tsp vanilla extract
  • 75 g self raising flour
  • 175 g chopped walnuts (if wanting to add dried fruit, use I’d say use 90 g walnuts and 90 g of your other ingredient – i.e. cranberries)
  • 225 g milk/plain chocolate chips

Method:

  1. Preheat the oven to 190C/170C fan/gas mark 5. Grease and line a 30 x 23 cm traybake or roasting tin.
  2. Break up the chocolate into pieces and melt slowly with the butter in a heatproof bowl over a pan of simmering water. Stir occasionally. When smooth, leave to cool. Dissolve the coffee in a cup with the hot water.
  3. In a separate bowl, mix together the coffee, eggs, sugar and vanilla. Beat in the chocolate mixture gradually.
  4. Fold in the flour, walnuts and chocolate chips and then pour into the prepared tin. (Don’t eat the mixture, be strong!) 
  5. Bake for about 40-45 minutes until they have a crusty top and a skewer comes out clean. Leave them to cool in the tin and then cut into squares.

Photo 09-03-2013 19 40 22

5 thoughts on “Recipe 13: Dark, indulgent, chocolate & walnut brownies

  1. Treedson says:

    They looked absolutely wonderful, I bet it is tasty too! You’re right after a hard-rough day, this is something to have! Forget about the naughty of brownie, just enjoy it. I’m sure it will make me smile too. 🙂

Leave a Reply

