Recipe 11: Pinwheel Biscuits

Hello everyone! Happy Thursday!

Yesterday I made the most annoying biscuits on the face of the earth. They took far too long than they should have, they came out very small, and all in all – they weren’t that nice (sorry Mary!). The pinwheel biscuits are a combination of chocolate and vanilla biscuits dough, combined together like a swiss roll. For me, they’re quite dry (not sure if anyone else felt the same way about these) and not that great on flavour.

Photo 06-03-2013 22 59 19

Another thing, the book says these are good for children to make. Sorry what? The amount of time they take, how sticky they are, how thing they are, and the time to roll them into one?! If I were a child I would be SO bored making them. Even my mum said to me, “I’d have thrown that away by now” but because I knew I had to report back to the blog, I carried on.

In my honest opinion I would say, don’t be deceived by the photographs because to me, they’re a bit of a waste of time, lacking in flavour and absolutely  minuscule! If I were to make them again, I would double the amount of dough for both vanilla and chocolate, which might achieve something more substantial. Well that’s all I have to say on the matter, so here’s the recipe, but honestly – steer clear of this one!

Ingredients (makes 20 biscuits):

For the vanilla dough:

  • 50 g softened butter
  • 25 g caster sugar
  • 25 g cornflour
  • 50 g plain flour
  • 1/2 a large egg
  • a few drops vanilla extract/1 tsp

For the chocolate dough:

  • 50 g softened butter
  • 25 g caster sugar
  • 25 g cornflour
  • 40 g plain flour
  • 15 g cocoa powder

Method

  1. Place greaseproof paper on the bottom of two baking trays. 
  2. Put all the ingredients for the vanilla dough in one mixing bowl, and combine together. Then repeat for all the ingredients for the chocolate dough in another bowl.

    Photo 06-03-2013 19 45 18

    Ignore my socks!

  3. Wrap each dough in clingfilm and leave in the fridge for 30 minutes.
  4. Roll out each dough on a lightly floured surface to the size of approx 10 x 7 inches. To make this so much easier for yourself, lay each of the dough on a piece of clingfilm covering your board or surface. Then place another sheet of clingfilm over the top of the dough and roll out. Once you have each to be a similar size, lay the vanilla biscuit dough on top of the chocolate and rolle up together from the narrow edge. It’ll look like a tiny swiss roll. 
  5. Wrap in clingfilm and place in the fridge for 30 minutes (see how time consuming this is?)
  6. Preheat the oven to 180C/160C fan/gas mark 4. Photo 06-03-2013 21 31 56
  7. Using a very sharp knife, cut the roll into about 20 slices and place on the baking tray. When I cut them they were SO small; when you have your slices, flatten them out slightly  so they’re not so thick.
  8. Bake in the oven for 20 minutes until the vanilla is golden in colour. Leave to cool on a wire rack.

Photo 06-03-2013 23 01 59

11 thoughts on “Recipe 11: Pinwheel Biscuits

  1. selfraisingflower says:

    Well done. They took me 3 attempts. Horrible biscuits to make and as you say tasted foul. I rolled mine up from the long edge as I felt they’d have been too small the other way. Definitely not one for children to make, but then again I don’t think the doughnuts are either and they’re in this section too!

  2. mowilson says:

    I love your commitment to a full posting about something you didn’t enjoy once baked! It takes soo long to type recipies up, anyway, I think I’ll give them a miss 😀

    • amyprescott92 says:

      Aww thank you! Well it means that others might save some time by avoiding making them. I honestly had this idea that these biscuits would taste amazing and look amazing, but they really were a let down! x

  3. Karen says:

    Oh how I wish I’d found your blog about an hour ago. My daughter saw the picture of these biscuits and wants them for her birthday party. Luckily I thought I’d give them a trial run this morning. I currently have two very sloppy dough mixtures doing their first stint in the fridge and can only see this adventure ending in disaster. Ho hum. I’ll have to flick through the recipe book again and see if she points out ‘fairy cakes’ instead!
    Am slightly dreading going back to the fridge…

  4. Karen says:

    I’m going to re-name them ‘marble’ biscuits, and dunk them in my tea with pride. And then put a big fat ‘X’ next to the recipe… my first unmitigated baking disaster. So pleased I’m not alone on this one.
    I’m not mad on almond flavour, but do fancy trying to make some biscuits that look quite pretty. Maybe I’ll do the tried and tested shortbread with smarties stuck on top, or do you have any other ideas?

  5. Karen says:

    Actually – I’ve just tried one. You are so right – it’s going to take more than a cup of tea to wash them down! Strangely, my daughter likes them… am now slightly doubting all those previous times she’s praised my baking.

  6. Karen says:

    Gingerbread men are a great idea. She will have a brilliant time ‘helping’ me decorate those. It’s going to take me a while to recover from this disappointment… Mary’s crown has slipped slightly in my estimation.
    Lovely to have you to share the experience with though, so thank you!

Leave a Reply

