Recipe 8/9: Cupcakes/Butterfly Cakes…I’m calling it 2-in-1

Photo 03-03-2013 12 54 25

I won’t lie to you, I’ve grown to hate cupcakes. I’ll give my reasons and you can decide if I’m justified:

  • They don’t quite satisfy the craving for a slice of cake
  • They can seem quite same-y
  • At the end of the day, it’s usually sponge with fancy icing
  • …they’re so boring to make

At the same time, I can appreciate that making cupcakes look beautiful can be quite a skill, and I’m not sure I have the patience do it. But as I say, sponge and fancy icing and I just don’t think it fills that hole for a slice of cake, a couple of biscuits and so on. They’re good for children when you want to limit how much cake they’re actually eating, and they can be fun for them to decorate (I imagine, I’m not a mum just yet!)

Photo 02-03-2013 21 14 38

My lovely gold foil cases from: http://www.cakescookiesandcraftsshop.co.uk/

Now the reason I’ve decided these are going to be a 2-in-1 recipe is because of how I combined the use of the recipe for a cupcake, with the decoration and icing from the butterfly cake on the page before. The good use of this was, for some, the icing is just too much on the top of a cupcake, so by making it a butterfly cake, you can get away with still using buttercream but not in a daunting and copious amount on the top! Not only that, they’re basically the same thing minus the use of milk and a lower oven temperature.

I’m sure you’re thinking…’goodness me, doesn’t she moan’, which I hope you’re not but I’ll admit, I do sometimes go on a bit, apologies.

Photo 02-03-2013 21 52 20

The cakes did come out very nice, the best they’ve ever come out, and I’d definitely say it was the combination of the recipe, and the gold foil cases. For ages I’ve been stuck in my ways and used paper cases, but they’re just no good. The cakes seemed to come away from the sides and just look like a right mess. But giving Mary her credit, these came up trumps. All very uniform, no dips in the middle and perfectly baked. If you would like the rest of the recipe for the different icings, comment on the page and I’ll update it for you.

Here’s Mary’s recipe for these like critters!

Ingredients (makes 12):

  • 100 g softened butter
  • 150 g self-raising flour
  • 150 g caster sugar
  • 3 tbsp milk
  • 2 large eggs
  • 1/2 tsp vanilla extract

For the icing:

  • 175 g softened butter
  • 350 g sifted icing sugar

Method:

  1. Pre heat the oven to 180C/fan 160C/gas mark 4.
  2. Put the cake cases into a 12-hole muffin tin.
  3. Put all the ingredients into a large bowl and beat until blended and smooth. Spoon evenly between the paper cases. This worked out exact and the perfect amount. For me, I use an ice cream scoop for the most accuracy.Photo 02-03-2013 21 22 46
  4. Bake on the middle shelf for about 20-25 minutes until they have risen and are golden brown.
  5. Lift the cases out of the tin and cool on a wire rack.

Here’s where we change to the next page for the butterfly cake mix up! 

  1. Beat the butter and icing sugar until well blended.
  2. Cut a small circle from the top of each cake and cut it in half.
  3. Pipe a swirl of buttercream int the centre and place the slices on top so they look like wings!
  4. Dust with icing sugar to finish.

Photo 03-03-2013 12 50 40

 

 

3 thoughts on “Recipe 8/9: Cupcakes/Butterfly Cakes…I’m calling it 2-in-1

  1. riversidebaking says:

    I sodding love butterfly cakes! Nom Nom Nom. They remind me of all my childhood special occasions and were around long before I’d heard of cupcakes! I went crazy last year and did loads of different flavour ones! Loving reading about your journey with Mary! x

    • amyprescott92 says:

      Butterfly cakes are definitely better than cupcakes, can’t be doing with all the icing! My mum used to make them for me to take to primary school when they wanted to have those cake sales. Thank you, that’s lovely, I appreciate it being read! x

Leave a Reply

