Recipe 7: ‘The Very Best Scones’

Hello everyone, happy Monday! I hope you had a lovely and enjoyable weekend with lots of baking! I’m still battling my cold but I think the worst over and hopefully will clear soon.

Now, I don’t know about you but I really do believe that afternoon tea or cream tea is the best thing since sliced bread. Since I’ve learned to bake, I enjoy it more when I have it at home and have taken the time to prepare – especially when friends or family come over for a get together. For me, it’s the nicest way to spend time with someone. If I don’t make it though, there are a few places I’ve been that offer a great value afternoon tea, I’ll include a link at the end of the post (just in case anyone fancies it – I’ve found what you’ve been looking for).

So when you think of afternoon tea, what’s the first thing that comes to mind?

Hmm…

A spot of tea at the Savoy? Maybe not.

Perhaps you might enjoy a spot of tea with a fellow lady…probably not what springs to mind.

Photo 02-03-2013 23 01 57

Afternoon tea for me = one thing…SCONES!

I have tried many a recipe for scones, so this wasn’t a new thing for me to have made, but you know the rules, everything in the book must be completed! I did get some very nice compliments for these, I was told they were nice and soft, had a nice texture and were well enjoyed with a spot of jam and cream. Not the most exciting recipe, but none the less, here it is, number 7!

Ingredients (makes about 18)

  • 450 g self-raising flour 
  • 2 rounded tsps of baking powder
  • 75 g softened butter
  • 50 g caster sugar
  • 2 large eggs
  • 225 ml milk

Method

  1. Pre heat the oven 220C/fan 200C/gas mark 7.
  2. Like two baking trays with baking parchment/greaseproof paper.
  3. Put the flour and baking powder into a large bowl and add the softened butter. Rub it in with your fingers until it resembles fine breadcrumbs.
  4. Stir in the caster sugar.
  5. Beat the eggs together in a jug, and make up to 300 ml with the milk. Put roughly 2 tbsps of this mixture into a cup or bowl for later when you need to glaze the top of the scones.
  6. Gradually add the egg mixture to the dry ingredients, stirring it in until you have a soft dough.
  7. Turn the dough out onto a floured surface, and roll it out to a thickness of 1-2 cm. Using a 5 cm fluted cutter, stamp out the scones by pushing it straight down into the dough. Do not twist or they won’t rise! 
  8. Repeat this method until you have used up all of the dough.
  9. Arrange the scones on the baking trays and brush the tops with the reserved egg mixture to glaze.Photo 02-03-2013 22 05 14
  10. Bake for 10-15 minutes/until they are well risen and golden.
  11. Transfer to a wire rack and leave to cool.
  12. Enjoy with some jam and clotted cream!
It may not be the Savoy, but doesn't it look good?

It may not be the Savoy, but doesn’t it look good?

 

 

7 thoughts on “Recipe 7: ‘The Very Best Scones’

Leave a Reply

